Major Arcana: 22 lessons for life

The Major Arcana: 22 Life Lessons

Learn all about the messages these cards have to offer

The Major Arcana are the trump cards in the tarot. There are 22 of them, each with a specific meaning, and they're usually numbered from 0 to 21.

Each Major Arcanum depicts a scene, mostly featuring a person or several people, with many symbolic elements. Every tarot deck is distinctive and carries a different connotation; however, most of their symbolism remains the same.

The Major Arcana Tarot cards represent the life lessons, karmic influences, and the big archetypal themes that influence your life and your soul's journey to enlightenment. Let's learn about these cards and what they mean. Below, you'll be able to read the message of each card.

The meanings: 22 lessons for life

0. The Fool

Life's a journey and no one knows where it'll end. Have fun,enjoy the trip and realize that you're making it as you go.

1. The Magician

Never stop being curious to learn new things. It's always a good time to improve your skills, even in areas you've never worked in before.

2. The High Priestess 

Be prudent and silent. Sometimes standing and watching is the best help. Sometimes silence is the best teacher.

3. The Empress 

Every effort has its reward. Choose well what you want to strive for in your life, what you want to be the most well-fed flower in your garden.

4. The Emperor

Give importance to your responsibilities, and take them seriously.

5. The Hierophant 

Know your power and find the right authorities when you need them.

6. The Lovers 

Surround yourself with someone who brings balance to your life. Keep in mind that bad connections will destabilize you.

7. The Chariot 

Take charge of your life. Don't let others decide your path.

8. Justice 

Do the right thing. It doesn't matter if no one is watching, and it doesn't matter if others haven't done the right thing.

9. The Hermit 

Don't be afraid to be alone, to travel alone, or to do things alone in general. Take it as your moment of meditation and disconnection. It'll help you to find yourself.

10. The Wheel of Fortune

Bad news will always be there. So will the good news. The sooner you accept it, the sooner you will start to be happy.

11. Strength 

Don't hurt others out of revenge, nor out of anger, jealousy, or rage. Control your impulses and do not desire the evil of others.

12. The Hanged Man 

When everything goes wrong, and you can't do anything to change the circumstances, don't forget that there is one thing you can always change: your attitude.

13. Death

Death, in the Tarot, represents change—the end of a cycle and the beginning of another. Change is the only constant.

14. Temperance 

Don't go after perfection. It'll make you unhappy all your life. Accept your imperfections and those of others.

15. The Devil 

You have to face your fears and worries. Don't try to avoid what makes you uncomfortable, or the truths that hurt.

16. The Tower

Don't try to build the house from the roof down. What's built on a faulty foundation is bound to fail completely.

17. The Star

All healing's possible, always. It may not come in the form or time you expect, but it will come.

18. The Moon

Don't focus on the outside of things. Look deeply, reality's is on the inside.

19. The Sun

Don't hold back. Bring your best game every day.

20. Judgement

Get over it. It's time to turn the page and go for it. You can do it.

21. The World

Look at things in perspective. It'll help you to put problems into perspective and to give importance to only what's worthwhile.